IKB 2018 Travelling Fellowship

Ike Kligerman Barkley is excited to announce our 2018 Fellowship Winners!

Rebecca Kennedy, University of Texas at Austin School of Architecture, March 2019

Rebecca will document rural vernacular construction techniques from the Mexican state of Oaxaca, where such building traditions are under threat of extinction as concrete construction becomes the norm. She will examine the place-based building technologies that make these structures so unique, as well as their role as cultural and historical evidence of shifting traditions.

Evan Sale, Yale University School of Architecture, March 2019

With the support of the fellowship, Evan will visit Rationalist and Neorationalist architecture in Italy and Switzerland, both canonical and lesser-known sites. He will analyze the forms in drawing and will research the theoretical framing in the hope of finding continuities between those 20th-Century movements and recent tendencies toward rationalism in representation and built work.

The Ike Kligerman Barkley Traveling Fellowship is comprised of up to $12,000 in prize funds awarded annually for both travel and research for up to two graduate students in their penultimate year. The intent of the IKB Traveling Fellowship is to consider the intersection between traditional and contemporary design. See below for eligibility requirements.


The applicant must be an enrolled architecture student in good academic standing at one of the following schools:

  • Columbia University
  • Cornell University
  • Pratt Institute
  • Rhode Island School of Design
  • Rice University
  • Savannah College of Art and Design
  • University of Notre Dame
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • University of Virginia
  • Yale University

Any number of students may apply from each school. Please contact us if you have any questions about eligibility.

The Jury

The jury consists of three Partners, two Senior Leaders from Ike Kligerman Barkley and two outside contributors who will join the jury on a rotating basis. Winners will be chosen based on the creativity, significance, clarity and feasibility of the proposals. The applicants and their schools will remain anonymous throughout the selection process.