IKB 2019 Traveling Fellowship

Ike Kligerman Barkley is excited to announce our 2019 Fellowship Winners!

Jamie Lipson, Princeton University School of Architecture, MArch 2020

Jamie will research Connemara marble, a rare green colored stone unique to Western Ireland. He aspires to address the lack of scholarship on Connemara marble’s use in architecture through rigorous fieldwork related to sites of production and manufacturing, close readings of Connemara marble architecture, archival research, scientific material analysis, and collaboration with local experts.

Julian Murphy, University of Notre Dame School of Architecture, MArch and Urban Design 2020

Julian will examine the form and content of World War I memorials, and how the traditional signs and symbols of memorial architecture were morphed, muted, lost, and/or substituted entirely in the search for meaning that followed WWI. He aims to show through a few clear examples how this historically unique formal pursuit was manifested, the shift it effected, and what lessons it offers for building memorials in an age where the nature of modern warfare is once again categorically different.

The Ike Kligerman Barkley Traveling Fellowship is comprised of up to $12,000 in prize funds awarded annually for both travel and research for up to two graduate students in their penultimate year. The intent of the IKB Traveling Fellowship is to consider the intersection between traditional and contemporary design. See below for eligibility requirements.


The applicant must be an enrolled architecture student in good academic standing at one of the following schools:

  • Berkeley
  • Columbia University
  • Cornell University
  • Georgia Tech
  • Harvard University
  • Kent State University
  • Louisiana State University
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Princeton University
  • Rhode Island School of Design
  • Rice University
  • Savannah College of Art and Design
  • University at Buffalo
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Michigan
  • University of New Mexico
  • University of Notre Dame
  • University of Oregon
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • University of Virginia
  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Yale University

Any number of students may apply from each school. Please contact us if you have any questions about eligibility.

The Jury

The jury consists of four leaders from Ike Kligerman Barkley and one outside contributor who will join the jury on a rotating basis. Winners will be chosen based on the creativity, significance, clarity and feasibility of the proposals. The applicants and their schools will remain anonymous throughout the selection process.